Drs. Sandelowski and Anderson to be Inducted into Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame

Margarete Sandelowski, PhD, RN, FAAN, and Ruth Anderson, PhD, RN, FAAN, from the UNC Chapel Hill School of Nursing will be inducted into the 2015 Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame recognizes nurse researchers who have achieved significant and sustained national or international recognition and whose research has improved the profession and the people it serves. Drs. Sandelowski and Anderson are two of only 19 nurse researchers globally to receive the honor at this year’s ceremony on July 25 at the 26th International Nursing Research Congress in Puerto Rico. The Duke and UNC Chapel Hill Schools of Nursing will honor their recipients at a jointly hosted dinner in San Juan.

Dr. Sandelowski is the Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor at the UNC School of Nursing. She has been widely recognized for her research in the areas of technology, gender and reproductive health. Her most recent work has been focused on synthesizing research findings from methodologically-diverse studies. Read more…

Prior to joining the School of Nursing as the Beerstecher-Blackwell Term Professor and Associate Dean for Research, Dr. Anderson was the Virginia Stone Professor of Nursing at the Duke University School of Nursing. She pioneered the application of complexity theory and management science in nursing for analyzing the institutional environment of nursing homes. Read more…

Related story: SON welcomes new Associate Dean of Research