Distinguished Alumni Honored at Awards Reception

The 2013 award recipients were, from left to right, Mr. David Oehler, Dr. Robin Knobel, Dr. Leslie Davis, Dr. Robert Dodge, and Ms. Amber Bivins (on behalf of Dr. Debra Barksdale).

At a reception held at the Paul J. Rizzo Conference Center, donors and alumni were recognized for their contributions to nursing, their communities, and to the School. During a ceremony presided over by Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor Kristen M. Swanson, RN, PhD, FAAN, five awards were given by the School of Nursing Alumni Association. The recipients were chosen for their career accomplishments as well as their dedication to community service.

The award recipients this year were Dr. Robert Dodge, BSN ’91, who received the Distinguished Alumnus award; Dr. Robin Knobel, PhD ’06, who received the Distinguished Alumna Award; Dr. Leslie Davis, BSN ’85, MSN, ’80, PhD ’11, who received the Graduate of the Last Decade (G.O.L.D.) award; Mr. David Oehler, BSN ’96, who received the Carrington Award for Community Service; and Dr. Debra Barksdale PhD, FNP-BC, ANP-BC, CNE, FAANP, FAAN, who received the Honorary Alumna of the Year Award.

The awards were given by members of the Alumni Association Awards Committee, including Robin Harper, BSN ’86, and Phyllis Justus, BSN ’81. Alumni Association President Roulhac Johnson, BSN ’00, was also acknowledged for her hard work leading up to the ceremony.

Donors were recognized by Dean Swanson for their generous support of the School. Attendees also had the chance to learn about the impact donors make through remarks given by two student scholars: Eunice Morde Doty Scholar Elizabeth Coble and Cronenwett Global Health Scholar Lisandro Hernandez Perez.

For more on this year’s recipients, see the full story on the School of Nursing website. You can also read their complete bios on the Alumni Awards Program page.