SON’s Faculty, Staff, and Students Excel

Dr. Linda Cronenwett, SON’s immediate past Dean, was elected Chair of the Board of the North Carolina Center for Hospital Quality and Patient Safety and began service in this role in January. In the same month, she also assumed her role as a member of the Board of the Josiah Macy, Jr., Foundation, which is dedicated to improving the health of the public by advancing the education and training of health professionals.

Dr. Cheryl B. Jones has been chosen as Faculty of the Year by the UNC Hospitals (UNC-H) Nursing Division. She is the Faculty Program Research Consultant for UNC-H, and one of her roles in this position is to foster research relationships between the School of Nursing and UNC-H. UNC-H emphasizes nurses engaging in research to address critical problems in practice, and Jones is working with its nursing research council on developing a research agenda that guides its nursing research efforts. She also mentors teams at the hospitals that have research ideas or are developing ideas into a research proposal.

Doctoral student Jeongok Logan has been selected by the Southern Nurses Research Society (SNRS) as the recipient of the 2011 SNRS – Salimetrics Distinguished Student Scholar Award in Biobehavioral Science for her work in understanding the relation between acculturative stress and cardiovascular risk in Korean Americans. This award recognizes the contribution of a rising pre or post doctoral student investigator actively conducting research to advance nursing knowledge related to the interactions between biology and behavior.  Her work is mentored by Drs. Joanne Harrell and Debra Barksdale.

Sandy Staley of SON’s Grants Management office received a Travel Award to attend the North Carolina Society of Research Administrators (NCSRA) meeting, which will cover pre- and post-award fundamentals, best practices, and many agency specific topics.  She was the only recipient of this competitive award from UNC-Chapel Hill.